+977 1 5426222

About NCWA

Welcome to: Nepal Council of World Affairs (NCWA)

Nepal Council of World Affairs (NCWA) was established in 1948 AD (2004 B.S.) as a non-political and non-profit making organization with a commitment to foreign policy deliberations and other key issues of global concerns. Then, Nepal was facing several political and economic challenges evoking a need for an independent forum such as NCWA that could critically examine the problems facing the country and help develop coherent policy responses. Late King Tribhuvan Bir Bikram Shah Dev, late King Mahendra, late King Birendra and former King Gyanendra had granted patronage to NCWA as the Head of the State.

After Nepal became a republic, NCWA designated the Head of the Government as its patron.

NCWA acts as a think tank and its members include leading intellectuals, academicians, policy makers, business leaders, institutions and civil society actors.

The Council organizes addresses by the Heads of the State, Heads of the Government and Dignitaries. Prominent among them were the following:

Dr. Rajendra Prasad (India), Dr. Sarvapalli Radha Krishnan (India), Dr. Zakir Hussain (India), Gen. Zai-ul-Haq (Pakistan).

Prime Ministers:
Pandit Jawahar Lal Nehru (India), Mr. Chou En Lai (China), Mrs Indira Gandhi (India), Dr. Tanku Abdul Rahaman (Malaysia), Mr. Morarji Desai (India), Dr. P.V. Narshimha Rao (India), Dr. I. K. Gujral (India), Chancellor Helmut Kohl (Germany), Mr. Shaukat Aziz (Pakistan)

Secretary Generals:
U Thant, Dr. Kurt Waldheim, Javier Perez de Cuellar, Ahmed Saleem.

Chester Bowels, Swaran Singh, V.K.R.V. Rao, Dr. Henry Kissinger, Dr. Zbigniew Brzezinski, Gaston Egmont Thorn, Ross Daniels, Abul Ahsan, Nihal Rodrigo, Morad Ghaleeb. Distinguished personalities and various Ambassadors to Nepal in recent years including H.E. Mr. Wu Chuntai (China), H.E. Mr. Frank Meyke (Germany), H.E. Mr. Ranjit Rae (India), H.E. Dr. Andrew Rotely Hall (British), H.E. Dr. Sergey V. Velichkin (Russia), H.E. Mr. W.M. Senevirathna (Sri Lanka), H.E. Mr. Jean-Charles Demarquis, (French), H.E. Ms. Rensje Teerink (EU), H.E. Mr. Kjell Tormod Pettersen (Norway), H.E. Mr. Masashi Ogawa (Japan), H.E. Mr. Asko Luukkainen (Finland), Mr. Kenichi Yokoyama (Country Director, ADB), Mr. Sajjad Ashraf former High Commissioner to Afghanistan (Pakistan).

Anniversary function:
Each year the Head of the state and Head of Government of Nepal address the Council at its anniversary function in February.

The office of the Nepal Council of World Affairs is located at its own building in Harihar Bhawan, Pulchowk on the way to Minister’s Quarters, next to UN House. The office of the Council opens 6 days a week from 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. in summer, from 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. in winter except Saturday. The office is closed on public holidays.